Alltech ONE Honors International Journalists

Cindy Zimmerman

The winners of the 2021 IFAJ-Alltech International Award for Leadership in Agricultural Journalism were announced in conjunction with the Alltech ONE Ideas Conference Tuesday. They are Kallee Buchanan of Australia and Craig Lester of Canada. The award, in honor of Dr. Pearse Lyons and his love of storytelling and journalism, recognizes and rewards excellence and leadership of young journalists within their local IFAJ guild.

Kallee Buchanan has worked as a journalist, presenter and producer since 2008 across radio, print and digital media. She is currently the President of the Australian Council of Agricultural Journalists.

My vision is to develop the ACAJ into a professional development organisation that assists rural and remote journalists and agricultural media specialists to connect with the IFAJ and the broad knowledge these organisations contain to help them grow as reporters.”

Hear more from Kallee in her video and the interview below.
Alltech ONE 21 IFAJ award winner Kallee Buchanan (19:04)

Craig Lester is the co-owner of Rural Roots Canada, a multimedia agriculture
production and distribution company that brings together independent content producers from across the country under one roof to tell stories about agriculture. He is the current President of the Alberta Farm Writers’ Association.

“As journalists in agriculture, we have a responsibility to contribute to the industry’s sustainability by covering the stories that matter and sharing them with the world, inspiring the next generation of leaders. Media has the power to connect people, ideas, and resources.”

Watch Craig’s video and listen to an interview with him below to learn more about him.
Alltech ONE 21 IFAJ award winner Craig Lester (8:06)

Alltech, Audio, IFAJ, Media