AAEA Fellows Announced at #AgMedia

Lizzy Schultz

Seventeen longtime members of the American Agricultural Editors Association (AAEA) were announced as the inaugural class of Fellows Of The AAEA during an awards banquet at the 2016 Ag Media Summit, held last week in St. Louis Missouri. The newly developed Fellows Program recognizes AAEA members for excellent service to the organization, and the inaugural class has an estimated 400 …

AAEA, Ag Groups, Ag Media Summit, Journalism

Apply for 2016 E4D Trip to China

Lizzy Schultz

2016 will mark the 5th annual International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) Exposure-4-Development Tour, and this year’s attendees will get the opportunity to explore agriculture and mechanization in China! The attendees, a group of 12 jury-selected journalists from around the world, will have the chance to travel through Beijing, Changzhou and Shanghai, China, for a first-hand look at farming and …

Ag Groups, IFAJ, International, Journalism

LPC Selects Finalists for 2016 Forrest Bassford Award

Jamie Johansen

The Livestock Publications Council (LPC) have announced the four young agricultural journalists have made the cut for the 2016 Forrest Bassford Student Award competition to be held at the Ag Media Summit in St. Louis, Missouri, July 23–27. The award, sponsored by Alltech, supports the journalists’ travel fees and participation at the LPC annual convention as well as the 18th …

Ag Groups, Alltech, Journalism, LPC, Marketing

Bettinghouse Joins Brownfield Sales Team

Lizzy Schultz

Learfield News & Ag is delighted to announce that Stacy Bettinghouse has become the latest addition to the Brownfield Ag News Sales Team. Stacy will work with Brownfield’s advertising partners in Michigan, Ohio and Indiana. “Stacy will be a great addition to the Brownfield team and will strengthen our relationships with advertisers in these key states,” said John Baker, Senior …

Ag Groups, Journalism

Agri-Pulse recognized by NAAJ

Lizzy Schultz

The North American Agricultural Journalists (NAAJ) presented Agri-Pulse with the Audrey Mackiewicz Special Award at the group’s annual banquet last week. The award is named after the first woman president and long-time Executive Secretary-Treasurer of NAAJ, and is presented to publications that have expanded their coverage of agriculture. The Agri-Pulse mission is devoted to covering agriculture, food and rural issues …

Ag Groups, Agri-Pulse, Journalism

Two North America Journalists Earn Global Award

Kelly Marshall

Sarah Hill from Brookings, South Dakota, USA and Julienne Isaacs of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada  have been honored as two of this year’s 2016 IFAJ-Alltech Young Leaders in Agricultural Journalism Award winners. These representatives from North America competed with some of the best throughout the world and will now participate in the International Federation of Agricultural Jounralists (IFAJ) Congress.  They will …

Agribusiness, Alltech, IFAJ, Journalism

NAFB Offers $25,000 in Scholarships

Kelly Marshall

The National Association of Farm Broadcasters believes in the future of farm broadcasting, which is why they’ve been supporting college students with financial support since 1975.  This year the NAFB will be offering five $5,000 scholarships to college juniors, seniors or graduate students enrolled for the fall of 2016. The scholarships include the Glenn Kummerow Memorial Scholarship, the George Logan …

Agribusiness, Education, Journalism

IFAJ 2016 Young Leaders Chosen

Kelly Marshall

The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) has selected ten participants for this year’s IFAJ-Alltech Young Leaders in Agricultural Journalism Award.  Judges selected candidates based on leadership potential, proven abilities and a narrative explaining their interest in the program.  The ten selected journalists will have the opportunity to attend an IFAJ congress and a boot camp style workshop in Bonn, …

Agribusiness, Alltech, IFAJ, Journalism

Be Part of the Ag Media Summit

Kelly Marshall

The 18th Annual Ag Media Summit will be in St. Louis this summer.  Mark your calendars for July 23-27 and make your hotel reservations for the Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch. The event hosts the largest number of crop and livestock media professionals, with more than 600 writers, editors, photographers, publishers and ag communication specialists attending.  It will …

Ag Media Summit, Agribusiness, Events, Journalism, Media