Alltech Honors Global Ag Journalists at ONE

Cindy Zimmerman

Lindi Botha, South Africa – 2022 IFAJ–Alltech award

The recent 38th annual Alltech ONE Conference (ONE) in Lexington, Kentucky, hosted 65 journalists from approximately 20 countries. Another 213 were in attendance virtually, representing nearly 35 countries. In a presentation during the conference, Alltech presented several awards to honor some of those journalists for their excellence.

In partnership with the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ), Alltech announced Lindi Botha of South Africa as the recipient of the 2022 IFAJ–Alltech International Award for Leadership in Agricultural Journalism. This recognition honors Alltech’s late founder, Dr. Pearse Lyons, who was a passionate storyteller with a great respect for agricultural journalists. Botha is an agricultural journalist and communications specialist and serves as the deputy chairperson of Agricultural Writers South Africa.

Alltech CEO Dr. Mark Lyons presented awards to Sofia Neumann (right) of Chile and Marlene Bernal Munoz (middle), accepting on behalf of Nicolás Gómez Bernal of Ecuador

Alltech also partnered with the Latin American and Caribbean Network of Agricultural Communicators (Red CALC) to present the ninth annual Innovation and Quality Awards in Agricultural Journalism to Sofia Neumann of Chile and Nicolás Gómez Bernal of Ecuador.

Neumann’s winning article, entitled “5 Chilean innovations that will impact the agricultural industry,” was published in Chile’s Financial Journal and addressed the impact of the adoption of research and development in the fruit sector of Chile. Gómez Bernal’s award-winning report, “RAZA 4 joins Latin American countries in defense of their plantations,” published in the newspaper El Productor de Ecuador, focuses on the banana industry as the first export area of many Latin American countries.

Virtual Newsroom

2022 Alltech ONE Conference Photos and Audio

Alltech, Media