Ten IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders Chosen for 2023 Award

Cindy Zimmerman

Ten outstanding young agricultural journalists and communicators have been selected as 2023 IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders, a prestigious award from the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) that recognizes the individuals’ professional skills and leadership potential. The Young Leaders award has been sponsored by Alltech since 2006 to recognize emerging leaders in agricultural journalism and communications from around the world.

The 2023 class of IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders includes:

Eliza Berlage, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Australia
Bianca Blasi, Bauer to the People, Austria
Anna Falk, HIR Skåne, Sweden
Betty Haynes, Prairie Farmer, USA
Nina Jareño Herrero, Interempresas Media, Spain
Tiietso Manoko, Food for Mzanzi, South Africa
Gifty Hodey Manye, Count on Crops Hub, Ghana
Sofia Selasco, Bichos de Campo, Argentina
Geralyn Wichers, Glacier Farmmedia, Canada
Geraldine Zutter, Schweizer Agrarmedien, Switzerland

“The importance of strong journalism in communicating agriculture’s truth in today’s world cannot be overstated,” said Dr. Mark Lyons, President and CEO of Alltech. “We are proud to support the next generation of journalists who are passionate about sharing the real stories of the farm and field, and the men and women who work tirelessly to feed our planet.”

The Young Leaders will be recognized at the 2023 IFAJ World Congress in Olds, Alberta, Canada, in June. They will also participate in a special Boot Camp prior to the congress, which will include leadership and skills training as well as farm visits in Alberta.

Alltech, IFAJ