Wheat and Sorghum Producers Honor Sen. Roberts

Cindy Zimmerman

Dan Atkisson, NSP Vice Chairman, Chairman Roberts and Don Bloss, NSP Chairman

The chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee was honored by both wheat and sorghum producers this week in Washington.

Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS) was presented with the National Sorghum Producers 2017 “Friend of Sorghum” Congressional Award in recognition of his long-running work representing the U.S. Sorghum producers.

“Senator Roberts is a formidable champion for U.S. farmers,” said Don Bloss, NSP chairman from Pawnee City, Nebraska. “We appreciate his advocacy, expertise and wit in crafting farm policy that keeps U.S. agriculture competitive in an ever-evolving global marketplace.”

Both Roberts and key members of his staff were honored by the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) and the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers (KAWG). Roberts was presented with the “Wheat Leader of the Year” award, the much-coveted “Wheaties” box, which is given annually to one member of congress based on their commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry. This is the second time Senator Roberts has received this award.

Members of Chairman Roberts’ staff received the “Friend of Wheat” award, given annually to congressional staff who demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm. The 2017 recipients include James Glueck, Janae Brady, Wayne Stoskopf, and Will Stafford.

sorghum, Wheat