send news release today

First Doan Award Presented

Cindy Zimmerman

Doan winner Michelle Rook, with Sen. Pat Roberts and Sara Wyant, Agri-Pulse

Doan winner Michelle Rook, with Sen. Pat Roberts and Sara Wyant, Agri-Pulse

The very first Doan award honoring Excellence in Reporting Agriculture was presented at Washington Watch this week to Michelle Rook, managing farm director at WNAX in Yankton, SD.

The Doan is named after Stewart Doan, a farm broadcaster and senior editor at Agri-Pulse, who passed away suddenly in May 2012. He was known for his passion for politics and determination for delivering breaking farm and rural policy news. The Doan was presented by the NAFB Foundation, through a gift from Agri-Pulse Communications. “It’s extremely fitting that this award for excellence in agricultural reporting is named The Doan,” said Agri-Pulse Editor Sara Wyant. “Stewart Doan was one of the most persistent and dedicated journalists I have ever known. He wanted to get the story first but also make sure it was done right in order to better inform our audience.”

Michelle’s winning entry titled “Rail Crisis Costs Northwestern Corn Belt Farmers” outlines the crisis, the cost and some solutions – along with the railroads’ response. A Certificate of Merit was also awarded to Susan Littlefield, farm director at KZEN, Columbus, NE for her entry titled “Behind the Chutes”, a special report on the rodeo cowboy and their role during the rodeo.

Happy to see the “globe” resurrected for this award. I still have mine from 1990, one of the last years they did that.

During his visit with the NAFB members to present the award, Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS) answered a few questions on a wide range of topics, including the budget, tax code, crop insurance, Cuba, and TPA. Sen. Roberts takes questions from farm broadcasters

Agri-Pulse, Audio, Media, NAFB