Zimfo Bytes 2/8

Carrie Muehling

  • Agricultural Research Service (ARS) molecular biologist, Elizabeth Ainsworth, is receiving the National Academy of Science’s Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences.
  • U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue and U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer announced that the USDA, in cooperation with the Office of the United States Trade Representative, is accepting nominations for new members to serve on its agricultural trade advisory committees. Nominations received by Friday, March 1, 2019, will be considered for the next round of appointments.
  • EFC Systems, Inc. announced that Jeremy Wilson has joined EFC Systems as Senior Vice President, Field Data Solutions effective February 1st. In his role Jeremy will lead the division of EFC Systems responsible for the FieldAlytics and AgSolver solutions.
  • UnitedAg, a leader in providing healthcare for the agricultural industry, has officially announced Mike Davidson as the new Associate Vice President of Sales.
  • Evogene Ltd. announced the appointment of Dr. Adrian Percy to its board of directors.
  • The American Soybean Association is now accepting applications for the Ag Voices of the Future program, sponsored by Valent USA. For more information, visit the Ag Voices of the Future page under the “Learn” tab on the ASA website.
  • The American Farm Bureau Federation recently announced Heather Gieseke as managing director, business development. In this role, Gieseke is responsible for establishing and building industry partnerships with agriculture companies and associations, leading the IDEAg sales and marketing teams, and building industry recognition of the various programs and brands brought forth by AFBF.
  • National Farmers Union (NFU) announced the opening of the application period for its Beginning Farmer Institute program class of 2019-2020. NFU encourages new farmers of any age from operations of any size, type or geography to apply for the class.
  • The Farm Credit Council joined with the Rebuild Rural Coalition in sending a letter to Congressional leadership on behalf of rural communities, U.S. agricultural producers, rural businesses and rural families urging them to “move quickly to pass bipartisan legislation to strengthen our nation’s infrastructure.”
  • The Association of Equipment Manufacturers will continue its participation in Commodity Classic, now as a partner and member of the event’s new management committee.
  • This week the Agricultural Retailers Association (ARA) recognized Senators Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, and Roger Wicker, R-Miss., with its 2018 Legislator of the Year awards.
  • Oklahoma farm broadcaster Mike Dain passed away February 2. He was 71 years old.
Zimfo Bytes