RFA Ethanol Podcast

2022 Peanut Efficiency Award Winners

Chuck Zimmerman

2022 FarmPress PEA Award WinnersDuring the Southern Peanut Growers Conference four peanut producers received the annual FarmPress Peanut Efficiency Awards presented at the Friday Saturday breakfast. Producers were praised and recognized for efficiently growing high-yielding peanuts.

The 2022 winners are:
Upper Southeast: Ben Cowin, Williamston, N.C.
Lower Southeast: Wayne Hobbs, Irwin County, Ga.
Delta: Mitchell Rogers, Covington County, Miss.
Southwest: Karl Stutzman, Weatherford, Okla.

Pictured are the three winners in attendance (l-r) Karl Stutzman, Wayne Hobbs and Ben Cowin. Mitchell Rogers, was not able to be there.

I asked each winner a couple questions about receiving the award and you can listen below. Key elements of their answers were to pay attention to detail and trust in God. All these winners made remarks about how important their faith is to them and their families.

Peanut Efficiency Award Winner, Upper Southeast States, Ben Cowin, North Carolina: Interview with Ben Cowin (1:27)

Peanut Efficiency Award Winner, Southwest States, Karl Stutzman, Oklahoma: Interview with Karl Stutzman (1:20)

Peanut Efficiency Award Winner, Lower Southeast States, Wayne Hobbs, Georgia: Interview with Wayne Hobbs (1:44)

2022 Southern Peanut Growers Conference Photo Album

Ag Groups, Audio, Peanuts, SPGC