ASTA Announces New Leaders and Award Recipients

Cindy Zimmerman

New ASTA Chair Brad May thanks John Latham for his service as Chair

The American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) announced its newly-elected officer team and honored industry award winners during its 2021 Policy & Leadership Development Conference this week in Washington, D.C.

Brad May of BASF will officially take office as ASTA Chair on July 1, taking over from outgoing chair John Latham, Latham Seeds. First Vice Chair for the coming year is Jim Schweigert, GroAlliance, and Second Vice Chair is David Armstrong, Sakata Seed America. May presented Latham with a flag flown over the U.S. Capitol in gratitude for his service to ASTA.

“It’s an honor to serve on behalf of this great industry, which has proven time and time again—especially this past year– just how resilient, and essential, we truly are. As we head into this new year, it’s my goal to ensure we’re prepared as an industry, and as an association, to continue leading and moving forward, to address whatever future challenges lie ahead,” said May.

The ASTA Distinguished Service Award was presented to two individuals this year – Chet Boruff, Chief Executive Officer of the Association of Official Seed Certifying Analysts (AOSCA) and Dr. Barb Glenn, Chief Executive Officer of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA).

There were also dual recipients of the Lifetime Honorary Member Award. Tim Johnson, Illinois Foundation Seeds, Inc. and John Schoenecker, H.M.CLAUSE.

Listen to John Latham’s ASTA Chair report and Brad May’s introduction of new officers and remarks:

ASTA PLDC21 Chair Report - John Latham (6:12)

ASTA PLDC21 New Chair Brad May, BASF (3:36)

ASTA, Audio, BASF, Seed