#AFBF17 Honors Entrepreneurs

Cindy Zimmerman

The American Farm Bureau Federation Entrepreneur of the Year is Vertical Harvest Hydroponics of Alaska and team leads Linda Janes and Dan Perpich.

Janes and Perpich came out the winner over three other finalists and took home a total of $30,000 in prize money, including $15,000 from sponsor Farm Bureau Bank to produce hydroponic vegetables housed in 40’ insulated shipping containers. All four finalists each received $15,000 in October for advancing in the competition.

The People’s Choice award and an extra $10,000 went to Levrack of Nebraska with 73 percent of the popular vote from the live audience at the finals competition and the general public online. Levrack produces efficient storage systems for farm shops, with Ryan Stauffer, Austin Stauffer and Peter Miller as team leads.

Listen to this interview Susan Littlefield with the KRVN Rural Radio Network did to learn more about Levrack: RRN interview with Levrack, AFBF People's Choice Entreprenuer

2017 AFBF annual meeting photos
Click to watch the finals competition from AFBF

AFBF, Audio