Sorghum Producers Elect New Chairman

Kelly Marshall

nsp-blossThe National Sorghum Producers board of directors has selected Don Bloss to serve as chairman.

“Don Bloss is an experienced voice in the sorghum industry, having served previously as the chair of NSP’s Legislative Committee,” said Tim Lust, NSP CEO. “We look forward to his contributions and insights as NSP engages in discussions related to the next farm bill.”

Other returning officers include: vice chair Dan Atkisson from Stockton, Kansas;  James Born from Booker, Texas, as past chairman position; and re-elected industry member, Mike Battin of Chromatin Inc.  Newly elected officers are: Bobby Nedbalek from Sinton, Texas; Kody Carson from Olton, Texas; and Larry Earnest of Star City, Arkansas.

“We welcome these new leaders and are excited to have their representation and diverse experiences on the NSP board of directors,” said Bloss. “There are crucial issues our board will face in the coming year, and we look forward to their assistance in moving the sorghum industry forward.”

Nedbalek farms in South Texas and is a member of Texas Regional Water Planning Group, San Patricio County Economic Development Corporation and the South Texas Cotton and Grain Association. Nedbalek hopes to utilize his experience to work with industry leaders and consumers in promoting the sorghum industry.

Carson is an active member in his local West Texas community where he farms. He is also involved with the Ag Producers Co-op and Plains Cotton Cooperative Association. Carson wants to capitalize the strengths within the sorghum industry when working on legislative and marketing matters.

Earnest farms in southeastern Arkansas and is currently involved in the National Research Center Administrators Society and the Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists. Earnest plans to work on increasing awareness of the value of sorghum and linking the importance of sustainable agriculture to both the public and world leaders.

“These directors have served our industry well during their tenure on the NSP board of directors,” Bloss said. “We appreciate their time and devotion to the industry and the legacy they leave to future sorghum leaders.”

Ag Groups, NSP, sorghum