Americans Score IFAJ Awards

Cindy Zimmerman

ifaj13-yara-awardsAmerican ag journalists were honored for their work in the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) Star Prize contests, results of which were announced last week at IFAJ’s World Congress in Rosario, Argentina.

A Progressive Farmer team of American Agricultural Editors’ Association (AAEA) members Gregg Hillyer, Barb Baylor Anderson, Charles Johnson, and Howard G. Buffett – took home the IFAJ-Yara Award for Sustainable Agriculture Reporting for “Bursting at the Seams.” Charles, pictured on the right here, accepted the award for the team.

This was the first IFAJ Congress that Charles ever attended, so he was pleased that it coincided with his team receiving this prestigious award.Interview with Charles Johnson, Progressive Farmer

ifaj13-photo-pigsIn the IFAJ Star Prize for Photography competition, AAEA member Dean Houghton picked up a distinguished recognition in the Production category for “Loading pigs.” The overall winner in this year’s IFAJ Star Prize for photo excellence, sponsored by DeLaval, was Peter Risteviski of Australia for his photo “I won’t abandon you.”

Other American winners in the IFAJ contests were Steve Baragona of Voice of America, who received third place for Sustainable Agriculture Reporting with his online story “Blended organic-conventional farming could feed world” published in Baragona and Voice of America colleagues Kane Farabaugh and Michael Burke also scored a runner-up plaque in the IFAJ Star Prize for Broadcasting’s Video competition for “A Dry Season.” AAEA member Jennifer Latzke of High Plains Journal – who attended the Congress as an IFAJ-Alltech Young Leader – also won a runner-up nod in the Online category for “The 12 Days of Agriculture.”

Information on all the winners can be found on the IFAJ website.

2013 IFAJ Congress Photo Album

Coverage of the 2013 IFAJ Congress is sponsored by Novus International and Dupont Pioneer
Audio, IFAJ, Media