send news release today

Popcorn Board Appointments

Melissa Sandfort

20070406_bruni_sub.jpgAgriculture Secretary Ed Schafer announced the reappointment of one member and the appointment of two new members to serve on the Popcorn Board.

William D. Kennebeck of Trenton, Mo., has been reappointed. Frank C. Morrison, Clearwater, Neb., and Pamela Garnick, Ord, Neb., have been appointed. Each member will serve three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2008 and ending on Dec. 31, 2010.

The nine-member Popcorn Board is composed of eligible popcorn processors who normally process and distribute more than 4 million pounds of popcorn annually. The nominees were appointed from nominations submitted by the industry.

The board, authorized by the Popcorn Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, conducts promotion, research and consumer information activities to maintain and expand the popcorn market. The program is funded by assessments paid by persons who process more than 4 million pounds of popcorn annually. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the Popcorn Board.