Election of IFAJ Presidium 2020-2022

Cindy Zimmerman

IFAJ officers in 2019 – new president Lena Johansson, treasurer Adrian Bell, outgoing president Owen Roberts, new VP Steve Werblow

The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) has elected its first woman president, and first Presidium member from South America.

Lena Johansson from Sweden, IFAJ vice-president since 2016, was unanimously elected as president, succeeding Owen Roberts of Canada who stepped down at the end of the two-term limit. Johansson has been an agricultural journalist for 30 years and is currently political editor in chief for Land Lantbruk, LRF Media, in Stockholm, Sweden.

Adalberto Rossi of Argentina was elected as secretary-general, becoming the first Presidium member from South America. Rossi has been the IFAJ Executive Committee member from Argentina since 2013 and is an agricultural writer, radio host and digital editor of an agricultural news portal and publisher of a digital daily newsletter providing up-to-date information on the Argentine poultry industry.

Taking over as vice-president, Steve Werblow of the United States had previously been secretary-general since 2016. Werblow is a freelance agricultural writer and photographer and during his tenure on the IFAJ Presidium he has been deeply dedicated to professional development and working with emerging guilds.

Completing the officers on the IFAJ Presidium, Adrian Bell was re-elected as treasurer, a position he has held since 2015. An agricultural writer, and a marketing and communications consultant to agriculture and agtech, he is the founder and director of Agro Mavens & AgTech Compass in the UK.

The Delegate Assembly was held online June 25, after the 2020 Congress scheduled for Denmark was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, followed by a week-long online process for the biannual Presidium elections.

IFAJ, Journalism