New ASTA Officers

Cindy Zimmerman

ASTA officers (LtoR): John Latham, Wayne Gale, and Brad May

The American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) announced its newly-elected officer team this week during the organization’s Policy & Leadership Development Conference (PLDC) in Denver, CO. Members of the FY2019-20 ASTA officer team—officially taking office on July 1 are:

Chair: Wayne Gale, Stokes Seed
First Vice Chair: John Latham, Latham Hi-Tech Seeds
Second Vice Chair: Brad May, BASF

A third generation seedsman, incoming Chair Wayne Gale began his career as a computer analyst and ultimately joined Stokes Seeds in 1984. He has been with Stokes Seeds—a major distributor of vegetable and flower seeds in Canada and the Northeastern United States—for more than 30 years. Gale has served several roles over the years on the ASTA Board of Directors, in addition to serving as President of the First–the Seed Foundation (FTSF). At FTSF, he has been the key driver of Tomatosphere — a hands-on school program that teaches students about plant science through experiments with “space seeds.” The popular program has engaged more than 3 million students across the U.S. and Canada since its inception in 2001. Stokes Seeds is based in Buffalo, NY, and Gale and his wife Isabel live in Fonthill, Ontario, Canada.

ASTA also presented its 2019 Distinguished Service Award this week to Alan Galbreth, who has spent his entire 43-year career in the seed industry working for the Indiana Crop Improvement Association (ICIA), where he was appointed CEO In 2011. He serves on various committees within AOSA/SCST, AOSCA and ASTA, including as Chair of the former ASTA Seed Analyst Liaison Committee and more recently as Chair of the ASTA Seed Industry Relations Committee.

ASTA, Seed