Zimfo Bytes 2/1

Carrie Muehling

  • During the past two weeks, 83 FFA members visited South Africa for a 12-day educational and cultural experience. Members participated in the 2019 International Leadership Seminar for State Officers as an annual, international opportunity through the National FFA Organization.
  • K2 Insurance Services, LLC has announced the completion of the acquisition of the assets and operations of Mid-America Risk Managers, Inc.
  • The Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City will showcase emerging innovation in agriculture technology at the Ag Innovation Forum on Feb. 14 in Kansas City. Register here.
  • The Association of Equipment Manufacturers has officially kicked off its year-long 125th anniversary celebration. AEM will feature anniversary updates throughout the year in the AEM Industry Advisor. Get updates by subscribing to the newsletter at https://www.aem.org/subscribe.
  • The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists has opened the application process for the 2019 IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders Award. Apply by Feb. 8, 2019.
  • American Farmland Trust has hired Dr. Beth Sauerhaft as vice president for programs.
  • Specific elements of the implementation process of the Agricultural Improvement Act of 2018 will be examined at the Farm Foundation® Forum on Tuesday, Feb. 5. Sen. Pat Roberts, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, will provide opening remarks. Register HERE if you plan to attend the Forum in person at the National Press Club. For the free live audiocast, register HERE. Audiocasting is made possible by a grant from Farm Credit.
  • U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue has selected three highly-qualified individuals for senior leadership positions at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Perdue named Dr. Mindy Brashears as Deputy Under Secretary for Food Safety, Naomi Earp as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, and Dr. Scott Hutchins as Deputy Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics. These positions do not require Senate confirmation.
  • It was a record-breaking year for the National Corn Growers Association Fields-of-Corn Photo Contest. More than 590 images were submitted for judging in the 2018 contest. In total, 25 prizes were awarded, representing photographers from 16 states. This year’s grand prize photo was submitted by Ryan Kanode from Colorado with the photo titled “Golden.”
  • Agricultural Research Service molecular biologist Elizabeth Ainsworth is receiving the National Academy of Science’s Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences.
  • Terramera announces Adrian Percy as Chair of their Science and Technology Advisory Council.
  • U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has awarded $200 million to 57 organizations through the Agricultural Trade Promotion Program to help U.S. farmers and ranchers identify and access new export markets.
Zimfo Bytes