Congrats to NAFB Winners

Cindy Zimmerman

The major awards and new officers for the National Association of Farm Broadcasting annual meeting are announced and presented within 24 hours at the annual convention so it may be hard to keep track of them all!

First, here are the new officers of NAFB. The lovely Rita Frazer (pictured here) with RFD Radio Network in Illinois is the new NAFB vice president; Tom Cassidy with New York’s Ag Radio Network takes over as president and Lorrie Boyer, KSIR Radio, is president-elect. Regional vice presidents are Dewayne Gandy, KRMO Radio; Joe Gill, KASM; and Spencer Chase, Agri-Pulse Communications, Inc. Rounding out the board are Wendy Pinkerton, Zoetis and Dr. Dwayne Cartmell, Oklahoma State University from the Allied Industry Council; Breck Von Bank, Brownfield Ag News and Tim Marshall, KRVN Rural Radio Network – Management Sales Council; and Lance Knudson, American Ag Network – Marketing and Promotion chair.

Two of the board members were also winners of major awards this year. Congratulations to Lance Knudson, the 2017 Dix Harper Meritorious Service Award Winner, and Spencer Chase who received the 2017 Horizon Award.

The best in the business, Tom Steever of Brownfield Ag News was named the 2017 Farm Broadcaster of the Year. The 40+ year NAFB member also got top honors for Newscast and Feature awards. Brownfield Ag News also finished third for video marketcast – Meghan Grebner, and second for Video Feature Shannon Yokely. Also Mark Dorenkamp placed third in Newscast and Julie Harker third in Feature.

Congrats also to the NAFB News Service Awards, sponsored by John Deere –
Excellence in Ag Reporting – Jared White, WHOW Radio
Editor’s Choice for Exceptional Merit – Joe Gill, KASM
Editor’s Choice – Andy Eubank, Hoosier Ag Today – Overall Ag Reporting

Joining the NAFB Hall of Fame, Class of 2017, were former NAFB executive director Mark Vail, and the late Gary Wergin, WHO.

Dozens more NAFB members received tenure awards, and Orion Samuelson was also honored for his work with the NAFB Foundation. Congratulations to everyone!

2017 NAFB Convention Photos

Coverage of the NAFB Convention is sponsored by
Coverage of the NAFB Convention is sponsored by FMC

Comments 1

Comments are closed.