Zimfo Bytes 3/16

Carrie Muehling

  • This spring, wine enthusiasts visiting Hermann, Miss., will have the unique opportunity to meet the farmers behind their food and wine. Celebrating the best of what Missouri has to offer, Missouri CommonGround and the Hermann Wine Trail announce The Farmers’ Table Wine Trail, a new addition to the wine trail lineup in 2018.
  • The American Farm Bureau Federation has presented Rep. Kristi Noem (R-S.D.) with AFBF’s Golden Plow award. The American Farm Bureau Federation and Ohio Farm Bureau have presented Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio) with AFBF’s Golden Plow award. The Golden Plow is the highest honor the organization gives to sitting members of Congress.The Golden Plow is the highest honor the organization gives to sitting members of Congress.
  • The World Food Prize Foundation is now accepting nominations for its renowned award that recognizes the accomplishments of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. Nominations of worthy candidates are invited from public and private organizations, academic institutions, governmental organizations, and businesses. Nominations will be accepted through May 1, 2018.
  • The American Society of Agricultural Consultants are bringing a webinar to ASAC members and others regarding tax law reform and how it impacts ag producers, agribusinesses and cooperatives. ASAC members are encouraged to invite customers into their audiences to watch this webinar at no cost. Non-members (anyone in agriculture) may also attend for a $29 fee. Registration is required. Visit www.agconsultants.org to register.
  • U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue announced the U.S. Department of Agriculture is investing $276 million in rural electric infrastructure to improve system efficiency and reliability. USDA’s $276 million investment will build nearly 1,000 miles of line and improve 733 miles of line to meet current and future needs of rural businesses and residents. It will also support $65 million in smart grid technologies to help rural electric utilities reduce outages and integrate new systems.
  • Iowa Corn Director of Grower Services Don Mason has retired after serving in this role for the last 17 years. Previously, Mason served on the Iowa Corn Growers Association Board of Directors beginning in 1997 and then transitioned to a staff position in May 2001.
  • The Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City honored two of the region’s leading agricultural figures on May 15 at a luncheon in the Chamber Board Room in Kansas City’s historic Union Station. Receiving recognition were Lowell Mohler, former director of the Missouri Department of Agriculture, and Dr. Ken Odde of Kansas State University.
Zimfo Bytes