Zimfo Bytes 12/15

Carrie Muehling

    • American Farm Bureau Federation President Zippy Duvall has been appointed to the White House’s Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations. Members of the ACTPN advise the president on the potential effects of proposed and current trade agreements. The ACTPN, which is administered by the U.S. Trade Representative, is the main trade advisory committee that provides policy information and advice to the president.

    • John Heisdorffer of Keota, Iowa, will serve as the 2018 president of the American Soybean Association, following a vote of the ASA board this morning in St. Louis. Heisdorffer raises soybeans, corn and hogs with his wife, Deanna and son Chris. Heisdorffer replaces Illinois’ Ron Moore as president, and Moore will move to the role of ASA Chairman. Former Chairman Richard Wilkins of Delaware rotates off the nine-member ASA Governing Committee.

    • Cotton Incorporated has inducted the 2017 class of the Cotton Research and Promotion Hall of Fame. The program, now in its fourth year, recognizes U.S. cotton industry leaders that have made significant contributions to the Program or to the cotton industry in general. The three honorees for the 2017 Cotton Research and Promotion Hall of Fame include: the late Dr. Harold L. “Hal” Lewis (Arkansas); the late Lawson “Sykes” Martin (Alabama); and Dr. William M. “Bill” Lyle (Texas).

    • Amy Jones, Senior Engineer in the Construction and Forestry Division of John Deere, has earned the SAE International/AEM Outstanding Young Engineer Award.

    • The Agricultural Relations Council (ARC) will again offer member companies the opportunity to host an outstanding student intern in summer 2018 as part of the ARC Internship Program. Organizations wishing to apply to host the 2018 intern must apply by Friday, Dec. 29, to be considered. Host applications can be found on the ARC website, at www.agrelationscouncil.com.

    • The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has been rated by employees as among the top ten best places to work in the federal government, moving up two notches to come in at seventh place in the 2017 rankings.  That is an improvement over 2016’s rankings, when USDA came in tied for ninth place.

    • Robert M. Thompson, a partner with the Kansas City office of the Bryan Cave law firm, was elected chairman of the Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City at the group’s annual meeting held December 7. Greg Krissek, CEO of the Kansas Corn Growers Association and Kansas Corn Commission, was elected vice chairman of the Council.

    • Caterpillar, the world’s leading manufacturer of construction and mining equipment, will become a sponsor of the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ), the only global agricultural journalists’ association. The Caterpillar sponsorship funds two new initiatives: the IFAJ Caterpillar AgTech Reporting Award, and the Caterpillar Development Bursary.
Zimfo Bytes