Zimfo Bytes 10/13

Kelly Marshall

  • Mike Johanns, former U.S. Agriculture Secretary and Nebraska Senator, is now serving on the board of directors of the Robert B. Daugherty Water for Food Global Institute at the University of Nebraska.
  • The American Soybean Association reminds growers the deadline to submit a nomination for the Recognition Awards Program is October 27, 2017 at midnight.  This year’s program includes three new categories: ASA Outstanding State Volunteer Award, ASA Distinguished Leadership Award, and the ASA Pinnacle Award.
  • “Grow by FarmHer” events are now in their third year of inspiring, educating and empowering young women in agriculture.  Their upcoming slate of events are at: Iowa State University on Monday, November 6; the University of Minnesota on Tuesday, November 7; and the University of Wisconsin- Madison on Thursday, November 9.
  • Recently critics took to the Hill to attack crop insurance.  The National Association of Wheat Growers has responded with an informational video about the program.
  • The Yield Lab St. Louis 2018 Accelerator program encourages start-ups seeking to revolutionize agriculture and food system to apply by November 3, 2017.   Selected companies will receive $100,000 in investment, 1 on 1 mentoring, and access to the award-winning accelerator program and global agtech network.
Zimfo Bytes