More NAFB Awards

Chuck Zimmerman

National Association of Farm BroadcastingI was kind of out of it at the NAFB convention last week due to a very bad cold so thankfully I’ve been in receipt of some information I did not know. Post Update: Cindy just reminded me that I have neglected to mention that Pam Fretwell is the new president of NAFB and the ever so dainty Pam Jahnke was elected Vice President.

  • The 2006 Dix Harper Meritorious Service Award was presented to Lyle Orwig, chief executive officer of Charleston/Orwig, an agricultural and communications firm based in Hartland, Wis.
  • Buckeye Ag Radio Network’s Andy Vance of DeGraff, Ohio, received the Horizon Award. The award is given to young broadcasters who have less have less than five years of membership with NAFB, but show promise in the industry.
  • Marlin Bohling of the Southern Farm Network based in Raleigh, N.C., received the New Holland Oscar in Agriculture Award. The Oscar represents excellence in thoroughness and audience service in reporting about agricultural issues.