AgriSCIENCE Award for Teaching Excellence

Jamie Johansen

DuPont announced that Jessica M. Jones, agriscience teacher at Chatham Middle School in Chatham, Va., has been selected to receive the George Washington Carver AgriSCIENCE Teacher’s Award in recognition of teaching excellence. The award recognizes the top-ranking member of the DuPont National AgriScience Teacher Ambassador Academy (NATAA) who demonstrates and advocates inquiry-based science teaching and inspires students to pursue science …

Agribusiness, Award, Company Announcement, Dupont, Education, FFA

Redhage Selected 2015 NAMA Marketer of the Year

Jamie Johansen

The National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) has selected Paul Redhage as the 2015 NAMA Marketer of the Year. The photo is of him during his year as NAMA President. This recognition is the most prestigious honor awarded to an active member of the association and honors outstanding accomplishments in the field of agri-marketing. For more than 50 years NAMA has been …

Agribusiness, Award, Marketing, NAMA

Pennington Named Charles Eastin Award Recipient

Jamie Johansen

The Agriculture Council of America (ACA) has named Dennis Pennington, Michigan State University Extension, the Charles Eastin Award Recipient for 2015. The Eastin Award honors an individual who stands out as an advocate for accurate communications between rural and urban audiences. The award will be presented at the Celebration of Agriculture Dinner held at USDA in Washington, DC on National …

Ag Day, Ag Group, Award

Call Issued for Golden ARC Award Entries

Jamie Johansen

The newly-modified 2015 Golden ARC Awards Contest, with many new categories and now permitting online submission of entries, is accepting entries, effective immediately and until March 31, 2015. Not satisfied with record-breaking entries in 2014, the Agricultural Relations Council (ARC) seeks to further improve the Awards Program and has moved to an online submission process this year, allowing entrants to …

Ag Group, ARC, Award

New Holland FinOvation Awards

Chuck Zimmerman

Last night Farm Industry News presented their annual FinOvation Awards. Our National Farm Machinery Show sponsor, New Holland, received two of them. Thanks to Dawn Pelon at New Holland for the picture. The products winning for New Holland include their Genesis T8 SmartTrax tractor and their Class 10 CR Combine line. Here’s how the awards come about via Farm Industry …

Award, Media, National Farm Machinery Show, New Holland, Tractor

St. Louis AgriBusiness Club Awards Leader of the Year

Jamie Johansen

The St. Louis Agribusiness Club just named American Soybean Association (ASA) CEO Stephen L. Censky as the area’s “Agribusiness Leader of the Year”. Since 1981, the St. Louis AgriBusiness Club has presented the prestigious award to a person who has made a substantial contribution to the well-being of agriculture in the St. Louis area, either on a local or national …

Agribusiness, Award, leadership

BASF Wins Two ‘Product of the Year’ Awards

Jamie Johansen

BASF was recognized as the winner of two ‘Product of the Year’ awards at the 23rd Annual National No-Tillage Conference in Cincinnati. Headline AMP® fungicide won for the ninth consecutive time in the fungicides category, and Sharpen® herbicide won for the second consecutive time in the herbicides category. “Headline AMP fungicide continues to be the fungicide market leader for corn …

Agribusiness, Award, BASF, Fungicide, Herbicide

AAW Elects National Officers

Jamie Johansen

American Agri-Women (AAW) kicked off its year-long celebration of its 40th anniversary at its annual convention held recently in College Corner, Ohio. The organization also elected its national officers and recognized outstanding advocates for agriculture. AAW is the nation’s largest coalition of farm, ranch and agribusiness women representing more than 50 state, commodity and agribusiness affiliates. The 39th annual convention’s …

Ag Group, Award

Alliance to Feed the Future’s Communicator of the Year

Jamie Johansen

The Alliance to Feed the Future has announced that Diana Prichard is the second recipient of its Communicator of the Year Award. The award, given in collaboration this year with the American Meat Institute, recognizes effective and innovative new voices that are enhancing the public dialogue about modern food production through multi-channel communications, including social media. Prichard, a farmer and …

Ag Group, Award

CAT on the Move at ARA

Chuck Zimmerman

A first time sponsor and exhibitor at this week’s Agricultural Retailers Association convention in New Orleans was Caterpillar (CAT). Dustin Johansen with CAT says they are working to make their products more well known in the agricultural market. “We’ve always have our construction products sold in agriculture, but as the agriculture industry continues to expand, we want to really put …

ARA, Award, Cattle Industry Conference, Equipment, Fertilizer, Livestock