Zimfo Bytes 5/25

Carrie Muehling

  • The National FFA Organization and National FFA Foundation have awarded more than $2.5 million in scholarships to 1,842 recipients, thanks to the generosity of 114 sponsors.
  • FMC Corporation announced several changes to its executive leadership, effective June 1, 2018. Mark Douglas, president of FMC Agricultural Solutions, has been appointed president and chief operating officer. He will lead FMC’s operational, commercial and technology organizations. Kathy Shelton, global director of Research and Development, has been appointed FMC vice president and chief technology officer. Diane Allemang, global director of Global Portfolio Strategy and Management, has been appointed FMC vice president and chief marketing officer. Susanne Lingard, global director of Regulatory Affairs, has been appointed FMC vice president, Regulatory Affairs.
  • The Cotton LEADS program announced its newest member Wrangler® and applauded the brand’s commitment to promoting soil health practices as a foundation for improving sustainability in the industry. The global denim manufacturer joins more than 540 program partners supporting continual improvement by cotton growers in the United States and Australia.
  • The 2018 American Marketing Association’s NOVA Awards on May 10 honored Lessing-Flynn among peers with awards in the eight categories for five different clients.
  • Six individuals were recognized as 2018 Outstanding Agricultural Mentors at the Women’s Agricultural Leadership Conference held recently in Chaska, MN. The Outstanding Agricultural Mentor Award Recipients for 2018 are: Jan Albrecht, retired dairy farmer; Joel Larsen, Program Specialist for Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources at the Minnesota Department of Education; Sue McCrum, former President of American Agri-Women and Maine potato farmer; Karin Schaefer, Executive Director for the Minnesota Beef Council; Rel Seykora, longtime Minnesota 4-H Volunteer; and Emily Wilmes, Extension Educator with University of Minnesota Extension.
  • Eight FFA members were recently named U.S. Presidential Scholars for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education. The FFA members named as scholars are: Michael Z. Chen of Newark, Del., member of Newark High School FFA Chapter; Connor K. Erbsen of Lanark, Ill., member of Eastland FFA Chapter; Lane Hilgenhold of Tell City, Ind., member of Perry Central FFA Chapter; Caleb L. Lines of Nashua, Iowa, member of the Nashua-Plainfield FFA Chapter; Caitlin Henne of Eaton Rapids, Mich., member of the Springport FFA Chapter; Tyler Noyes of Toston, Mont., member of the Broadway FFA Chapter; Brianna D. Maddock of Davenport, N.D., member of the Kindred FFA Chapter; Bridger J. Gordon of Whitewood, S.D., member of the Sturgis FFA Chapter.
Zimfo Bytes